College of Charleston
Center for International Education
Charleston, SC 29424
843-953-7661
studyabroad@cofc.edu
E-mail: 
Password: 
Program Selection and Application Process
Accepted Students
Important Dates
Program Types
Course Approval
Financing Study Abroad
Scholarships
Resources
Advising Sessions
FAQs
Apply to Study Abroad
Programs
Create Account
Application Instructions
Next Steps
More Information
Photo Contest
Student Blogs
Information for Parents
Information for Faculty
Contact Us
Deadlines
Spring: November 1
Summer: March 15
Fall: April 1
Program Search
Program Type:
Program Country:
Program Term:
Major:

Study Abroad Course Approval

Transferring Credit from Exchange and Affiliate Programs

Once you have identified a potential study abroad program, email your Study Abroad Advisor to see if desired courses are pre-approved. Your Advisor can check a shared inventory to see if a previous student has taken the same class and received credit. If a course is found in the inventory, then your Advisor will tell you how the course abroad will transfer back to the College.

For courses NOT listed in the inventory, you will need to provide a description or syllabus to the appropriate department chair or appointed professor for evaluation. See the course approval directory to know whom to contact. It is the discretion of the professor to award any and all transfer credit. All approved courses must be documented on the course approval form.  (Note: you must first attend an advising session or meet with a study abroad advisor before receiving this form).

Grades vs. Credits

The College of Charleston transfer credit policy requires students to earn the equivalent of a U.S. "C" or better to receive credit for an approved course (a "C-" will NOT transfer back). Transfer grades do NOT appear on your official College of Charleston transcript and is therefore NOT factored into your College of Charleston GPA. Only the credit hours are posted to your record. Please note that should you transfer to another college or apply to graduate school, the universities will likely require an official transcript from each school you have attended. In this case, your study abroad grades will be considered.


College of Charleston Contacts for Study Abroad Course Approvals

When seeking course approval, you must have a detailed course description or syllabus if possible. Contact your program if this information is not available on their website.

2017-2018 Transfer Credit Evaluations

 

The following is a list of the faculty course evaluators and their contact information.  If a student questions the way a course was evaluated, he/she is welcome to contact the appropriate faculty member at the email address below.  If the student asks about a particular course that’s still under evaluation, please have him/her send an email to transferevaluation@cofc.edu.

Department

Chair/ Evaluator

Email

Accounting/ Legal Studies/ Bus Law

Dr. Roger Daniels

danielsr@cofc.edu

Anthropology/ Sociology

Dr. Moore Quinn 

quinne@cofc.edu 

African Studies (English/ History)

Dr. Simon Lewis  

lewiss@cofc.edu                               

African American Studies

Dr. Simon Lewis  

lewiss@cofc.edu                              

Art History/ Architectural History

Dr. Marian Mazzone

mazzonem@cofc.edu

Arts Management

Dr. Karen Chandler

chandlerk@cofc.edu

Asian Studies

Dr. Lei Jin

jinl@cofc.edu

Astronomy

Dr. Jon Hakkila   

cc: Dr. Narayanan Kuthirummal (NK)

hakkilaj@cofc.edu

kuthirummaln@cofc.edu

Athletic Training

Dr. Andrew Lewis

lewisa@cofc.edu

Biology

Dr. Melissa Hughes

HughesM@cofc.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Pam Riggs-Gelasco

gelascop@cofc.edu

Classics/ Latin/ Ancient Greek

Dr. James Newhard

newhardj@cofc.edu

Communication and APCP

Dr. Julie Davis

cc: Dr. Jenifer Kopfman

davisj@cofc.edu

kopfmanj@cofc.edu

Computer Science/Computing in the Arts

Dr. Sebastian van Delden 

vandeldensa@cofc.edu 

Computer Information Systems (INFS)

Dr. Chris Starr

starrc@cofc.edu

Crime, Law and Society    

Dr. Ann Stein

steina@cofc.edu

Dance

Ms. Janine McCabe

mccabej@cofc.edu

Data Science

Dr. Paul Anderson              

andersonpe2@cofc.edu

Decision Science (DSCI)

Dr. Kent Gourdin

gourdink@cofc.edu

Economics

Dr. Calvin Blackwell

blackwellc@cofc.edu

Educational Foundations

Dr. Bob Perkins

PerkinsR@cofc.edu

Elementary/Middle Grades/Teacher Education

Dr. Bob Perkins   

PerkinsR@cofc.edu

English

Dr. Myra Seaman

seamanm@cofc.edu

Entrepreneurship

Dr. Kelly Shaver

shaverk@cofc.edu

Environmental Studies

Dr. Allison Welch

welcha@cofc.edu

Exercise Science 

Dr. Thomas Carroll

carrollt@cofc.edu

Film Studies

Dr. Myra Seaman

Cc: Dr. John Bruns

seamanm@cofc.edu

brunsj@cofc.edu

Finance 

Dr. Weishen Wang

wangw@cofc.edu

Geology

Dr. Tim Callahan

Callahant@cofc.edu

Geography

Dr. Claire Curtis  

curtisc@cofc.edu

Health 

Dr. Thomas Carroll

carrollt@cofc.edu

History

Dr. Scott Poole

poolews@cofc.edu

Honors

Dr. Trish Folds-Bennett

And Dr. Bryan Ganaway  

foldsbennettt@cofc.edu

ganawayb@cofc.edu

Hospitality & Tourism Management

Dr. Steve Litvin

litvins@cofc.edu

Humanities

Dr. Maureen Hays

haysm@cofc.edu

Note: General Humanities (GG) credit may not be used towards Gen Ed requirements, effective with incoming/readmitted fall 2015 students. Please have these courses evaluated within a specific academic area instead.

 

 

Jewish Studies

Dr. Joshua Shanes

shanesj@cofc.edu

International Business (INTB) Courses

Dr. Rene Mueller

mueller@cofc.edu

International Studies

Dr. Doug Friedman

friedmand@cofc.edu

Language – Arabic

Dr. Lei Jin

jinl@cofc.edu

Language – Chinese

Dr. Lei Jin

jinl@cofc.edu

Language – Classics (Greek, Latin)

Dr. James Newhard

newhardj@cofc.edu

Language – French

Dr. Lisa Signori

SignoriL@cofc.edu

Language – German

Dr. Morgan Koerner

koernerm@cofc.edu

Language – Hebrew

Dr. Oren Segal

segalo@cofc.edu

Language – Hindi

Dr. Lei Jin

jinl@cofc.edu

Language – Italian

Dr. Giovanna Deluca

delucag@cofc.edu

Language – Japanese

Dr. Yoshiki Chikuma

chikumay@cofc.edu

Language- Not offered at CofC

Dr. Shawn Morrison

morrisonsh@cofc.edu

Language- Portuguese

Dr. Luci Moreira 

moreiral@cofc.edu

Language – Russian

Dr. Irina Erman   

ermanim@cofc.edu 

Language – Spanish

Dr. Lola Colomina-Garigos

Dr. Antonio Pérez-Núñez

Dr. Félix Vásquez 

Dr. Marianne Verlinden 

colominagarrigosm@cofc.edu

pereznunezab@cofc.edu 

vasquezf@cofc.edu

verlindenm@cofc.edu

Latin American Studies

Dr. Lola Colomina-Garigos

colominagarrigosm@cofc.edu

Linguistics

Dr. Liz Martinez-Gibson

martineze@cofc.edu 

Management       

Cantrelle Gilliard

gilliardcn@cofc.edu

Marketing

Cantrelle Gilliard

gilliardcn@cofc.edu

Mathematics

Ms. Debby Jeter

jeterd@cofc.edu

Meteorology        

Dr. Mike Larsen  

cc: Dr. Narayanan Kuthirummal (NK)

larsenml@cofc.edu

kuthirummaln@cofc.edu

Music

Dr. Edward Hart 

harte@cofc.edu

Physical Education    

Dr. Thomas Carroll

carollt@cofc.edu

Philosophy

Dr. Todd Grantham

granthamt@cofc.edu

Photography

Ms. Sara Frankel

frankels@cofc.edu

Physics

Dr. Mike Larsen

cc: Dr. Narayanan Kuthirummal (NK)

larsenml@cofc.edu

kuthirummaln@cofc.edu

Piano Classes

Dr. Edward Hart

harte@cofc.edu

Political Science

Dr. Claire Curtis  

curtisc@cofc.edu

Psychology

Dr. Mike Ruscio

rusciom@cofc.edu

Real Estate

Cantrelle Gilliard

gilliardcn@cofc.edu

Religious Studies

Dr. Elijah Siegler               

sieglere@cofc.edu

Studio Art

Ms. Sara Frankel

frankels@cofc.edu

Supply Chain Management

Dr. Kent Gourdin

gourdink@cofc.edu

Theatre

Ms. Janine McCabe

mccabej@cofc.edu

Urban Studies      

Dr. Kevin Keenan

keenank@cofc.edu

Women’s/Gender Studies 

Dr. Cara Delay

delayc@cofc.edu

                                                                                                                                                                        Updated June 2017

College of Charleston Center for International Education